WALKER -- More than 50 talented music students from Walker-area schools will perform in a music review in the meeting room at Wholly Ground Coffee House in Walker on Saturday, March 17.

The two-hour show, which will feature 24 different musical performances, will begin at 4 p.m. Tickets for the show are $3 for elementary-age children and younger, and $7 for everyone else.

This is the 10th annual music review featuring talented music students in grade 6-12 from Walker. The students, who come from North Corbin Junior High, Westside Junior High, Walker Freshman High and Walker High Schools, will perform a variety of both instrumental and vocal pieces while also representing many genres.

The students, who have had eight rehearsals for the music review, are performing under the direction of Cathy McManus, the area’s talented music teacher. Other organizers include Nannette Egros, choreographer; Cindy Sanders, director’s assistant; Danny Wilson, sound engineer; Ross Hoppe, piano; John Madere, bass; and Christopher McCullough, percussion.

Music Review

Cathy McManus, back to camera, conducts students as they rehearse for an upcoming music review to be held at Wholly Ground Coffee House in Walker on Saturday, March 17.

This program is supported in part by a Decentralized Arts Funding Grant from the Arts Council of Greater Baton Rouge in cooperation with the Louisiana Division of the Arts, Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, and Louisiana State Arts Council. Funding has also been provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.

The complete list of sponsors include: Arts Council of Greater Baton Rouge, Arts Council of Livingston Parish, Sheriff Jason Ard, Assessor Jeff Taylor, Heyse’s Printing, Judson Baptist Church, LA Medical Clinic, Livingston Parish Clerk of Court, Ozark Chiropractic, Stine’s in Walker, Walmart in Walker, Attorney Richard G. Whitworth, Yvette Smith, and Zeagler Music.

The following students will perform in the music review:

Ryan Aime, S.J. Albert, Dahlia Alkadi, Ethan Archer, Ethan Armstrong, Noah Bazer, John Austin Bergeron, Peyton Berry, Jack Bolton, Elaina Brune, Shelbi Carroll, Brianna Chaney, Olivia Daigle, Shelby Dorough, Donovan Elsey, Solie Falcon, Evyn Fitzgerald, Anna Ferrand and Emma Graham.

Also Brian Harley, Kaylee Hibbard, Julia Hollingsworth, Jessica Horn, Nikolas Johnson, David Lanzetta, Hayden Lilley, Marian Luzier, Madison McKenzie, Maria Nickel, Rebekah Niederhofer, Richard Nixon, Christian Noto, Chloe Poissot, Jordan Robinson, Jessica Scholz, Morgan Schroeder, Sydni Seighman and Austin Shelton.

Also Athena Smith, Kyndall Smith, Emily Smyth, Kayla Spearman, Kali Sunde, Cameron Thames, Kyre’ Trask, Caitlin Travis, Sara Waguespack, Dylan Walsworth, Elizabeth Watkins, Ilea Watson, Andrew Woodrich and Logan Yarbrough.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.