The Denham Springs Freshman High cheerleaders proved age is nothing but a number.

Competing against 14 other squads in the UCA National High School Cheerleading Championship in Orlando, Florida, last weekend, the DSFH cheerleading squad secured a third-place finish in the Junior Varsity Game Day division.

The DSFH cheerleading squad, the first to compete on the national level in school history, was the only Junior Varsity Game Day team to feature an all-freshman cast. The other competing teams had freshmen and upperclassmen cheerleaders.

They may have been the babies of the bunch, but that didn’t stop DSFH cheerleaders from leaving their mark, said team sponsor Lisa Harper.

“We have a group of amazingly talented young women,” Harper said, “and they just stepped up and had fun with this routine and came home with a bronze medal.

“They put Denham Springs Freshman on the map.”

The squad arrived in Orlando late Thursday night and spent all day Friday practicing their routines.

After placing 12th in the national routine on Saturday, the DSFH cheerleaders gave the performance it really came to deliver — its beloved game day performance, which included a band dance, a cheer and chant and crowd engagement.

The DSFH cheerleaders performed their game day routine twice on Sunday, Feb. 11, and finished a half-point behind the second-place team (Wilson Central High School, Tennessee) and one point behind the first-place team (Vestavia Hills High School, Alabama) in the finals.

Not bad for being the youngest squad in the field.

“For some of our girls, it was their first time competing on a national level, so we were very excited about the game day finish,” Harper said. “The [teams that finished] above us were very well-seasoned competitors that had been there before.

“For us to go up against them and come out third with a bronze medal was more than we could’ve asked for.”

The DSFH cheerleading squad is made of Brennan Averette, Shelby Brocksmith, Jenna Brown, Kahner Boyer, Abi Duncan, Madison Feucht, Jodee Fowler, Grace Fruge, Baleigh Gonzales, Cami Laxton, Tess Miller, Kayla Montes, Kendal Sonnier, Sydney Stepp, Shelby Sanchez and Haleigh Stewart. Game day alternates were Eve Fruge, Sidney Cheney and Camryn Miley.

The squad’s coach is Wayne New, and its sponsors are Lisa Harper and Michelle Wise.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.