Members of the Parents’ Council at the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts in Natchitoches hosted their fourth annual Senior Banquet on Sunday, May 6, at Mariner’s Restaurant.

The senior banquet is a special evening for the seniors to celebrate their upcoming graduation and spend time together as a class before the stress of finals. Retiring faculty, as well as the residential staff, are invited to share in the evening.

Those attending enjoyed remarks from Dr. Steve Horton, executive director, Presley Simmons, senior class president, and Dr. Kyle Stephens, associate lecturer of history.

Sixty seniors received an acorn from John Allen, senior class sponsor and chief of staff, in recognition of completing three years at LSMSA.

Receiving acorns were Charlie Roppolo of Denham Springs, Presley Simmons of Walker, Layna Auzenne of Opelousas, Xavier Banks of New Iberia, Kiara Barclay of Bogalusa, Lily Barnett of Alexandria, Kathy Barrios of Houma, Gabrielle Blanchard of Houma, Scott Blazer of Grand Cane, Jacob Burton of Houma, Alvaro Carvajal of Jefferson, Emily Ann Dart of Bossier City, McKenzie Davis of Ferriday,

Also, Kerry Doyle of Eros, Makayla Dupre of Jeanerette, Christian East of Lake Charles, Hayden Fanning of Haynesville, Edouard Ferrell of Natchitoches, Caitlin Foster of LaPlace, Molly Gonsoulin of Franklin, Olivia Gotte of Iota, Sarah Green of Houma, Samantha Hernandez of Slidell, Dennis Keo of Buras, Ruby Kharod of Opelousas, Jayme Kirkland of Baton Rouge, Olivia LaCour of Saint Amant,

Also, Bryson Landry of Franklin, Amy Liu of Alexandria, Claire Lucas of Baton Rouge, Haleigh McKie of Natchitoches, Reed Middendorf of Natchitoches, Emma Miller of Meraux, Emma Millisor of DeRidder, Grayce Mores of Harvey, Caitlyn Morrison of Gloster, Bryce Moulton of Natchitoches, Lyrren Mwaghore of Luling, Jessenia Ortiz of Oberlin, Stephanie Osten of Crowley, Tomas Parker of Natchitoches, Alexis Parsons of Maurice, Blake Phelps of Merryville,

Also, Camryn Pourciau of Baton Rouge, Adreanna Queen of Natchitoches, Lauren Rains of Youngsville, Milla Reddick of Grand Cane, Andrey Romanov of Westwego, Marcus Shallow of Elton, Jakob Shimer of Lake Charles, Emma Simpson of Shreveport, Emilyann St Blanc of Franklin, Trevor Sullivan of Slidell, Mary Edna Tanksley of Lake Providence, Nathan Ward of Anacoco, Sarah Wells of Ball, Samantha Wright of Crowley and Ariana Yelverton of Rayville.

The Parents’ Council is a part of the LSMSA Foundation and exists to support LSMSA by organizing and sponsoring events throughout the year for current students and faculty.

Students enjoy an annual picnic in the fall, a senior banquet to honor and celebrate the graduating class, and a graduation extravaganza for the entire student body.

Additionally, the Parents’ Council sponsors faculty and staff appreciation week each year to show their gratitude for the employees who teach, coach and mentor their students during their time at LSMSA.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.