LP School Board 2019

The newly sworn in Livingston Parish School Board includes, from left, Devin Gregoire of Albany, David “Bo” Graham of Walker, Kellee Hennessy-Dickerson of Watson, Frank Parrino of Springfield, Jeff Cox of Walker, Buddy Mincey Jr., of Denham Springs, Jan Benton of Denham Springs, Bradley Harris of Denham Springs and Brad Sharp of Livingston.

LIVINGSTON – The Livingston Parish School Board approved an extra school resource officer from the Livingston Parish Sheriff’s Office after the Walker Police Department could no longer supply one for Walker's school district.

“At the conclusion of last semester, the Walker Police Department told us they would no longer be able to supply a school resource officer as of January 1,” Superintendent Rick Wentzel said. “The Livingston Parish Sheriff’s Office will provide a replacement for the second semester.”

Wentzel said the additional officer from the Sheriff’s Office will help continue stationing 10 officers in schools throughout the parish. The $21,500 payment for the officer will transfer from the Walker Police Department to the Livingston Parish Sheriff’s Office, Wentzel said.

The Sheriff’s Office will now supply eight school resource officers in Livingston Parish schools. The Denham Springs Police Department supplies two officers for the schools in its city limits.

The board also entered a temporary workspace agreement with Gulf South Pipeline Co. as it begins testing gas lines on School Board property in Satsuma. Wentzel said the company requested 600-foot by 100-foot and 200-foot by 100-foot work areas on the site until April 30.

Gulf South Pipeline will pay the board $5,000 for the use of the space, restore it to its original state and monitor it until April 2020 to ensure it is properly restored, Wentzel said.

To open its first meeting of 2019, the board elected Buddy Mincey Jr., of Denham Springs, and David “Bo” Graham, of Walker, as its president and vice president, respectively. Mincey was elected president with a unanimous vote. Graham won the vice president’s seat on a 5-4 vote over board member Kellee Hennessy-Dickerson.

Four new members also were welcomed to the board.

They were: Brad Sharp of Livingston, District 1; Bradley Harris of Denham Springs, District 4; Frank Parrino of Springfield, District 8; and Devin Gregoire of Albany, District 9. 

In other action, the board granted tax exempt status to the demolition projects of Denham Springs Elementary School, Southside Elementary School and Southside Junior High.


The News is interested in your feedback! Please tap here to leave some thoughts on our feedback form or follow this link:


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.