Live Oak softball head shots Lindsey Rizzo (2018)


Livingston Parish turned in a strong presence on the 2018 All-District 4-5A softball team, with an even dozen players on the first team – six from league runnerup Live Oak and three apiece from Denham Springs High and Walker.

District champion Central’s two ringleader, Emily Danehower and Raegan Willis shared District MVP honors and Lady Wildcat leader Michelle Efferson is the Coach of the Year.

Live Oak softball head shots Breanna Corkern (2018)


Lindsey Rizzo, Breanna Corkern and Brett Leiva led the way for the Eagles as repeat first-team picks. That trio was key as Live Oak fashioned a 5-3 record in league play. Senior Aubrey Rabalais and freshmen Emma Hunt and Katie Vandermark also landed first-team spots.

Denham wound up third in the district and was the only parish 5A team to log a playoff victory. Yellow Jacket sophomore Paige Luquette was tabbed a first-team selection on the infield, while juniors Rayne Minor -- another repeat first-teamer -- and Natalie Parker garnered spots in the outfield and utility, respectively.

Walker started off district play with wins over DSHS and Zachary but a six-game losing streak to end the season derailed the Lady Cats. Despite a 10-20 finish, senior Kassy Guidry grabbed a first-team nod on the infield, along with teammate Laynie Jones. Outfielder Savanah Stafford was tabbed a first-team outfielder.

All-District 4-5A


P Emily Danehower, Central | SR

P Lindsey Rizzo, Live Oak | SR

P Ashley Lopez, Zachary | SR

C Brett Leiva, Live Oak | JR

C Raegan Willis, Central | SR

IF Breanna Corkern, Live Oak | SR

IF Aubrey Rabalais, Live Oak | SR

IF Laynie Jones, Walker | JR

IF Kassy Guidry, Walker | SR

IF Kamrynn Jordan, Central | SR              

IF Bailie Johnson, Central | SR

IF Paige Luquette, DSHS | SO

OF Kylie Chauvin, Central | SO

OF Carsyn Martel, Zachary | JR

OF Savanah Stafford, Walker | SO

OF Rayne Minor, DSHS | JR

OF Emma Hunt, Live Oak | FR

UT Natalie Parker, DSHS | JR

UT Katie Vandermark, Live Oak | FR


Emily Danehower, Central

Raegan Willis, Central

Coach of the Year

Michelle Efferson, Central


PLayne Miley, DSHS | SR

P Haleigh Pourciau, Walker | FR

C Alayna Adams, Walker | SR 

C Karlie Galloway, DSHS | SR

IF Brennan Jones, Walker | SO

IF Bobbie Amond, Central | SO

IF Alyssa Brashier, Zachary | SO

IF Madi Sunde, Live Oak | SR

IF Carley Fudge, Zachary | FR

OF Kaijah Nelson, Zachary | SR

OF Meagan White, Walker | JR

OF Maci Werchan, Central | JR

OF Ali Pourciau, Central | JR


Central – Krystal Stubbs (SR)

DSHS – Zoie Sedberry (SR), Colin Macias (FR), Kaitlyn Friedman (SR), Melody Lienemann (SR), Madison Wolverton (JR)

Walker – Kailey Chachere (SR)

Zachary – Bailee Bowlin (SR), Bailee Avants (FR)

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.